Recycle Bin

recycle bin graphicWe are all familiar with the concept of a recycle bin when managing and deleting files on our computer’s desktop. We can safely send files to the trash bin without giving it a second thought, because those items are instantly recoverable. With the update to Moodle 3.2, that functionality is now available to course editors within every CLE course!

By default, course editors will not see the recycle bin, but shortly after a resource or activity is deleted, the recycle bin icon will appear in the Administration block. From there, you can recover items for up to 14 days after they were deleted from the course home page.

Deleting an item

To delete, or send an item to the recycle bin:

  1. Navigate to your course home page, and click the Turn editing on button.
  2. Locate the item you wish to remove, and click its corresponding Edit link, and choose Delete from the menu.
  3. From the Confirm dialog box, click the Yes button.
  4. After a few moments, refresh your browser. The Recycle bin icon will appear near the bottom of the Administration block.

deleting an item and recycle bin

 

Recovering

To recover, or move an item from the recycle bin back to the course home page:

  1. From the Administration block, click the Recycle bin icon (only visible if something has been recently deleted, and after you have refreshed the page).
  2. Locate the item, and click its corresponding Restore icon.
  3. You will see a confirmation banner appear at the top of the Recycle bin. Return to your course home page, and the item will be in its original location.

inside the recycle bin

 

Permanently deleting

To permanently delete an item from your course:

  1. From the Administration block, click the Recycle bin icon (only visible if something has been recently deleted, and after you have refreshed the page).
  2. Locate the item, and click its corresponding Delete icon.
  3. From the Confirm dialog box, click the Yes button.

delete confirmation dialog

NOTE: If you delete something from within the recycle bin, you are permanently deleting that item, and there is no undo option!

 

Please make note of the following tips about the recycle bin:

Recovery time allotment: You have 14 days to recover any item sent to the recycle bin. After that, it will be automatically and permanently deleted from the CLE.

Hiding instead of deleting: If you’re not sure about removing something from a course, and you are worried about the 14 day time limit for items in the bin, we recommend leaving the item on the course home page, and simply hiding it from students, until you are sure.

Deleting whole sections: You can now delete entire sections. However, section headers DO NOT get sent to the recycle bin. Activities and resources with the section will end up in the recycle bin, but anything typed or embedded into the section header is lost as soon as you delete it. For this reason, we recommend using the Label resource for adding descriptive information to the course home page, because labels are recoverable when deleted, and they can be freely moved within the center column of the course.

One bin per course: There is only one recycle bin per course, and it is shared by all course editors.

Students: Students cannot delete activities or resources from a course, and will never see the recycle bin.

Delays and refreshing the page: After deleting an item, the recycle bin will not appear until you refresh the page. It can take about 30 seconds, or more, for the bin to appear, especially if the deleted item was large or complex, like a quiz, or a page with embedded media.

Category level bin: If you are a category manager, and have the ability to create and delete entire courses, you’ll be glad to know that the recycle bin will appear on the course category page as well. This means you can recover entire courses that were accidentally deleted, with just a few clicks!

More info: docs.moodle.org/32/en/Recycle_bin

If you have any questions about this feature, or notice something missing in your course that does not appear in the recycle bin, please contact us ASAP!