Participants and Enrollment

participants iconThe Participants page enables instructors and course staff to easily enroll, view, search for, filter, edit and, delete course participants all from a single page. In earlier versions of the CLE, the course participants could be viewed on a different page and enroll users on another.

After the update to Moodle 3.4, the functionality has improved so now it’s easy to enroll, edit and delete course participants. There are also options to search and filter course participants by period of activity, enrollment method, role group, or status. The participant’s status is clearly displayed so you can easily identfy wheather students are active or suspended in the course. Click the tab above to learn more about the participants page.

 

.

Access the Participants Page

The Participants page can be accessed from the navigation drawer.

participants link

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It can also be accessed from the More link in the settings menu (located on the top right of the course page), and then click Enrolled Users in the Users tab.

More link

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Participants Page

The participant page provides a clean layout that allows instructors to easily enroll, view, search for, filter, edit and delete course participants. View the image and list of features below:

participants page

 

  1. Search drop down menu to filter users by period of activity, enrolment method, group, role and status.
  2. Search for users by filtering by first and last name.
  3. Click the gear icon to select an enrollment method, edit groups, edit course permissions, and check permissions for users in your course. Click on Other Users to view a list of users that are not enrolled in this course but do have roles, inherited or assigned within it.
  4. The Status column indicates if a student is active, click the icon to reveal enrollment details, click the gear icon to edit enrollment, click the trash can to unenroll users.
  5. Bulk select users in your course and then choose if you would like to send them a message, edit selected user enrollments or delete the selected users from your course.
  6. Click enroll users to manually enroll users in your course.

Enroll Users

To Manually enroll students:

  1. Open that navigation drawer and click Participants.
  2. Click the Enroll users button at the top right or bottom left of the page. The Enroll users window will open (see screenshot below).
  3. If adding individual users, click select users and enter the name or the ID# for the student or employee. Click Select Cohort If you are enrolling a cohort.
  4. Click Show More to expand the enrolment options and set them as appropriate. These include the enrolment duration.
  5. Click the Enroll Selected Users and Cohorts button towards the bottom of the window to complete enrollment.

The user will then appear in the list of enrolled users.

Delete Users

To delete users from a course:

  1. Open that navigation drawer and click Participants.
  2. The Participants page will open.
  3. Search for the student/user that you would like to delete and click the trash can located on the far right.
  4. The student or user will be removed from the course.

Select Enrollment Methods

  1. Open that navigation drawer and click Participants.
  2. Click the gear icon located on the top right of your screen.
  3. Select Enrollment Methods from the drop down menu. The enrollment methods window will open.
  4. Go Add method and select the enrollment method.

enrollment methods page

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click the trash can icon to delete an enrollment method, click the eye icon to enable or disable an enrollment and click the gear icon to make edits.

Visit the Enrollment Methods page for detailed information about enrollment methods and instructions for applying them to your course.